UA-87681140-1

LAUNCH OF CADENCE

Discover the poetry by twenty women from New Brunswick who contributed to a collection titled Cadence: Female Voices, published by Frog Hollow Press (Victoria, BC) and edited by Elizabeth Blanchard and Kayla Geitzler!

The video of the launch, which was originally broadcast on Facebook Live November 25, 2020, has been uploaded to our YouTube account.

EDITORS OF CADENCE

Elizabeth Blanchard holds a BSc (Dalhousie University) and MSc. (Université Laval) in Pharmacy. As a pharmacist, she gained experience in pharmacokinetic research, practiced in both retail and hospital settings, and worked for the New Brunswick Prescription Drug Program. Also a writer, she has been an active member of Moncton’s literary community for a number of years, and her short stories have appeared in Canadian literary journals and anthologies. She was project coordinator for the Chaire de recherche en études acadiennes at the Université de Moncton. She co-edited the poetry anthology Cadence: Voix féminines / Female Voices (Frog Hollow Press, 2020) with Kayla Geitzler, and is currently an associate fiction editor for the literary journal The Antigonish Review.

Kayla Geitzler was born and raised in Moncton NB. Her adventurous spirit has taken her all over the world and onto cruise ships where she worked for two years. This inspired her first poetry collection That Light Feeling Under Your Feet. Published by NeWest Press in 2018, it won the 2016 WFNB Bailey Prize, made the Calgary Bestseller List, and was shortlisted for the 2018 NB Fiddlehead Poetry Prize and Alberta Publishers’ Award. The CBC has recognized Kayla as a poet who reflects “the enduring strength of the literary form in this country” and All Lit Up has named her a “Rad Woman of Canadian Poetry”. With Elizabeth Blanchard, she is the co-editor of the forthcoming multilingual chapbook of NB Women Writers Cadence.

CONTRIBUTORS AND TRANSLATORS

Jude Marie Augustine

Rachel Bonbon

Judy Bowman

Thuy-Dzung Dang

(published in Cadence under the name Dzung T. Dang)

Jo-Anne Elder

Reem Fayyad Abdel Samad

Kimberly Gautreau

Phyllis Grant

Emma Haché

Bryn Harris

Brigitte Harrison

Luke Hathaway 

(published in Cadence under the name Amanda Jerrigan)

Nancy King Schofield

Brigitte Lavallée

Dr. Sophie M. Lavoie

Danielle LeBlanc

Sonya Malaborza

Vanessa Moeller

Kieran Pridgeon

(published in Cadence under the name Katrina Pridgeon)

Sue Sinclair

Émilie Turmel

Shoshanna Wingate

NEWSLETTER

   Stay tuned for news, events, announcements and special offers!   

Frye Festival

P.O. Box 26023

Moncton, NB

CANADA  E1E 4H9

T : 506.859.4389

CONTACT US

Partners

UA-87681140-1

LANCEMENT DE CADENCE

Découvrez les poèmes d’une vingtaine d’autrices du Nouveau-Brunswick ayant participé au collectif Cadence : Voix féminines, publié par Frog Hollow Press (Victoria, C.-B.) et édité par Elizabeth Blanchard et Kayla Geitzler!

La vidéo du lancement, qui avait été diffusée sur Facebook Live le 25 novembre 2020, est maintenant disponible sur notre compte YouTube!

EDITRICES DE CADENCE

Titulaire d’un baccalauréat (Dalhousie University) et d’une maîtrise (Université Laval) en pharmacie, Elizabeth Blanchard a œuvré comme pharmacienne dans le domaine de la recherche scientifique, en pharmacie d’officine ainsi qu’en milieu hospitalier. Elle a également travaillé pour le Plan de médicaments sur ordonnance du Nouveau-Brunswick. En tant qu’écrivaine, elle est active au sein de la communauté littéraire de Moncton depuis plusieurs années. Ses nouvelles sont parues dans des revues et anthologies canadiennes. Elle a été coordonnatrice de projet à la Chaire de recherche en études acadiennes de l'Université de Moncton. Elle a également codirigé l'anthologie de poésie Cadence : Voix féminines Female Voices (Frog Hollow Press, 2020) avec Kayla Geitzler et est actuellement membre du comité de rédaction de la revue The Antigonish Review.  

Kayla Geitzler est née et a grandi à Moncton au Nouveau-Brunswick. Son esprit aventurier l’a amenée à voyager à travers le monde et à travailler sur des bateaux de croisière pendant deux ans. C’est ce qui lui a inspiré son premier recueil de poésie, That Light Feeling Under Your Feet. Publié par NeWest Press en 2018, il s’est mérité en 2016 le prix WFNB Alfred G. Bailey, s’est retrouvé parmi la Calgary Bestseller List et a été présélectionné pour le prix NB Fiddlehead Poetry 2018 et pour l’Alberta Publishers’ Award. Radio-Canada a qualifié Kayla Geitzler de poète qui reflète « la résilience de la littérature dans ce pays » tandis que All Lit Up l’a identifiée comme une « voix du tonnerre de la poésie canadienne ». Avec Elizabeth Blanchard, elle est co-éditrice du projet multilingue à paraître, Cadence, regroupant les textes d’autrices du Nouveau-Brunswick.

CONTRIBUTRICES ET TRADUCTRICES

Jude Marie Augustine

Rachel Bonbon

Judy Bowman

Thuy-Dzung Dang
(publiée dans Cadence sous le nom d'Amanda Jerrigan)

Jo-Anne Elder

Reem Fayyad Abdel Samad

Kimberly Gautreau

Phyllis Grant

Emma Haché

Bryn Harris

Brigitte Harrison

Luke Hathaway 

(publié dans Cadence sous le nom d'Amanda Jerrigan)

Nancy King Schofield

Brigitte Lavallée

Dr. Sophie M. Lavoie

Danielle LeBlanc

Sonya Malaborza

Vanessa Moeller

Kieran Pridgeon

(publié·e dans Cadence sous le nom de Katrina Pridgeon)

Sue Sinclair

Émilie Turmel

Shoshanna Wingate

INFOLETTRE

 Restez à l'affût des actualités, événements, annonces et offres spéciales du Frye! 

Festival Frye

Casier postal 26023

Moncton, NB

CANADA  E1E 4H9

T : 506.859.4389

NOUS JOINDRE

Partenaires