UA-87681140-1 Official Messages | Frye | Moncton

NEWSLETTER

   Stay tuned for news, events, announcements and special offers!   

Frye Festival

P.O. Box 26023

Moncton, NB

CANADA  E1E 4H9

T : 506.859.4389

CONTACT US

Partners

1/8

Official Messages

 

Official Message from the Minister of Canadian Heritage and Multiculturalism

Named in honour of Northrop Frye, literary critic and champion of Canadian literature, the Frye Festival attracts readers of all ages to Moncton to meet award-winning writers and take part in enriching encounters.

 

This year, as Canada celebrates the 50th anniversary of the Official Languages Act, this literary gathering turns 20 years old. As the only international literary festival in Canada that presents its programming in a completely bilingual format, the Frye Festival helps shine a light on one of our country’s greatest treasures: our linguistic duality. Events like author readings and meetings, round-table discussions, writing workshops and school visits provide opportunities to nurture special connections between writers and their readers. By bringing together renowned authors and rising talents from all over the world, the festival encourages literary creation, promotes a love of reading, and contributes to the vitality of Canada’s publishing industry.

 

As Minister of Canadian Heritage and Multiculturalism, I would like to thank all the organizers, writers and volunteers who have worked hard to make this year’s Frye Festival a success. Best wishes for the festival’s 20th anniversary, and happy reading!

 

 

The Honourable Pablo Rodriguez

 

Official Message from the Minister of Tourism, Heritage and Culture

of New Brunswick

As minister of Tourism, Heritage and Culture, I would like to extend a warm welcome to all authors and participants of the 20th Frye Festival.

 

Over the years, this bilingual international literary festival has grown and flourished to become one of Canada’s most renowned literary events, and is a source of pride for Monctonians and all New Brunswickers. Our government is very pleased to support this annual celebration of reading and writing that also commemorates the life and cultural legacy of Northrop Frye.

 

On this 20th anniversary, I would like to congratulate the organizers and volunteers for their passion and tireless commitment to highlighting the work of authors from here and afar and for ensuring that our communities have the opportunity to hear, read and enjoy a vast array of literary genres from every corner of the globe. This year, this incredible team is offering again another exceptional line up of authors and events that will please bibliophiles of all ages.  

 

Happy 20th anniversary and best wishes for another successful festival!

 

Robert Gauvin

Minister of Tourism, Heritage and Culture

 

Official Message from the Moncton City Council

On behalf of the City of Moncton, we wish a warm welcome to the authors and festival-goers attending the 20th annual Frye Festival.


As one of Moncton’s signature events, the Frye Festival has been feeding imaginations and creating opportunities for Monctonians to
meet the best local, Canadian, and international authors for two decades.


We are proud to host this celebrated bilingual book festival and Atlantic Canada’s largest literary happening. Events like the Frye Festival make our city a wonderful place to live, work, and play.


Congratulations to the Festival team and to the dedicated volunteers for their tireless work, and thank you to the partners who have contributed to making this edition another successful event! Here’s to your next 20 years being just as impactful and inspiring, and to your continued contribution towards fostering a culture of reading and writing.


Have a great festival!

 

Official Message from the Frye Festival Chair, Suzanne Cyr

While each edition of the Frye Festival is a celebration, this year is particularly exciting and special as it marks the 20th anniversary of one
of the most anticipated events on the cultural calendar, locally and beyond our borders.


The Festival is a celebration of diversity and of the power of imagination. Its mission remains as relevant as ever, helping to break down barriers in our bilingual community and encouraging us to imagine a better world.


On behalf of the Board of Directors, I extend a heartfelt thank-you to all those who’ve contributed to the Frye Festival’s success over the past 20 years. Thanks to your passion, dedication, and generosity, the Festival looks to the future with great optimism. At 20, all dreams are possible after all...
 

Wishing you a Festival filled with bookish discoveries!

Suzanne Cyr

 

Word from the Frye Festival Executive Director

Originally from Quebec, I am a poet and a vetaran of the cultural sector. Recently, I have moved to the city of Moncton, which has welcomed me with open arms.


For the last several years, I have been working towards the democratization of knowledge and culture through reading and writing. Beyond the fulfillment of that mission, the Frye Festival also builds bridges between Francophones and Anglophones, the young and the old, neophytesand literature buffs.


It is with great pride that I take over the work of all those who have contributed to the success of this festival since it was founded in 1999. I hope the 20th edition will shine and honour their great accomplishments, and that it will mark a new chapter we get to write together.


I am looking forward to meeting you!

Émilie Turmel

UA-87681140-1 Messages officiels | Frye | Moncton

INFOLETTRE

Festival Frye

Casier postal 26023

Moncton, NB

CANADA  E1E 4H9

T : 506.859.4389

 Restez à l'affût des actualités, événements, annonces et offres spéciales du Frye! 

NOUS JOINDRE

Partenaires

1/8

Messages officiels

 

Message officiel du Ministre du Patrimoine canadien et du Multiculturalisme

Depuis deux décennies, le Festival Frye – nommé ainsi en l’honneur de Northrop Frye, critique littéraire et champion de la littérature canadienne – attire à Moncton des lecteurs de tous les âges venus rencontrer des auteurs primés et faire de belles découvertes.


Cette année, alors que le Canada célèbre le 50e anniversaire de la Loi sur les langues officielles, le Festival Frye fête ses 20 ans. Seule rencontre de littérature internationale au Canada à proposer une programmation entièrement bilingue, le Frye met en lumière l’une des grandes richesses de notre pays : notre dualité linguistique. Des activités comme des lectures et des rencontres avec des auteurs, des tables rondes, des ateliers de rédaction et des visites dans les écoles sont autant d’occasions de nouer des liens entre les écrivains et leurs lecteurs. En réunissant des auteurs de renom et de la relève des quatre coins du globe, le festival favorise la création littéraire, l’amour de la lecture et la vitalité de l’industrie canadienne de l’édition.


À titre de ministre du Patrimoine canadien et du Multiculturalisme, je tiens à remercier tous les organisateurs, auteurs et bénévoles qui ont veillé à la réussite du Festival Frye de cette année. Je vous offre mes meilleurs voeux en ce 20e anniversaire. Bonne lecture!


L’honorable Pablo Rodriguez

 

Message officiel du Ministre du Tourisme, du Patrimoine et de la Culture

du Nouveau-Brunswick

En tant que ministre du Tourisme, du Patrimoine et de la Culture, je souhaite la plus chaleureuse des bienvenues à tous les auteurs et participants du 20e Festival Frye.

 

Au fil des ans, ce festival littéraire international bilingue est devenu l'un des événements littéraires les plus renommés du Canada, ainsi qu’une source de fierté pour les Monctoniens et tous les gens du Nouveau-Brunswick. Notre gouvernement est très heureux d’appuyer cette célébration annuelle de la lecture et de l’écriture qui commémore également la vie et l’héritage culturel de Northrop Frye.

 

En ce 20e anniversaire, je tiens à féliciter les organisateurs et les bénévoles pour leur engagement sans faille et leur passion pour la mise en valeur du travail des auteurs d’ici et d’ailleurs, pour que nos communautés aient la possibilité d’entendre, de lire et d’apprécier un vaste répertoire de genres littéraires des quatre coins du monde. Cette année, cette équipe incroyable nous présente une fois de plus une belle brochette d’auteurs et d’événements qui plairont aux bibliophiles de tout âge.

 

Joyeux 20e anniversaire et meilleurs vœux pour un autre festival des plus réussis !

 

Robert Gauvin

Ministre du Tourisme, du Patrimoine et de la Culture

 

Message officiel du conseil municipal de Moncton

Au nom du conseil municipal et des résidents de Moncton, nous souhaitons la bienvenue aux auteurs d’ici et d’ailleurs, ainsi qu’à tous les festivaliers de cette 20e édition du Festival Frye.

 

En tant qu’événement phare de Moncton, le Festival Frye en met plein la tête et crée des occasions extraordinaires pour la population de rencontrer ici-même les meilleurs écrivains locaux, canadiens et internationaux depuis 20 ans.

 

Nous sommes fiers d’être l’hôte de cet important événement culturel bilingue, le plus grand festival littéraire au Canada atlantique. Le Festival Frye est l’un des nombreux événements qui font rayonner Moncton et contribuent à en faire un endroit
où il fait vraiment bon vivre, travailler et s’amuser.

 

Félicitations à l’équipe du festival et aux bénévoles dévoués pour leur travail inlassable, et merci aux partenaires qui ont contribué à faire de cette édition un autre événement réussi! Que vos vingt prochaines années soient tout aussi marquantes et exaltantes, et continuent à promouvoir la lecture et l’écriture.

 

Bon festival à tous!

 

Mot de la présidente du conseil d'administration 

Chaque édition du Festival Frye est une grande fête. Celle-ci revêt un caractère exceptionnel et une occasion de réjouissances, car elle marque le 20e anniversaire d’un incontournable de la scène culturelle, ici, mais également au-delà de nos frontières.

 

Le Festival Frye, c’est aussi une célébration de la diversité et du pouvoir de l’imagination. Puisqu’il aide notre communauté bilingue à faire tomber les préjugés et à inventer un monde meilleur, sa mission demeure plus que jamais d’une grande pertinence.


Au nom de mes collègues du conseil d’administration, permettez-moi de rendre un vibrant hommage à tous ceux et celles qui ont favorisé l’essor du festival au cours des 20 dernières années. Grâce à votre passion, à votre dévouement, à votre générosité, le Festival Frye entrevoit l’avenir avec beaucoup d’optimisme, car à 20 ans, tous les rêves sont possibles.


Bon festival! Bonnes découvertes!

Suzanne Cyr

 

Mot de la directrice générale 

Travailleuse culturelle et poète québécoise, je me suis récemment installée à Moncton, une ville vibrante et chaleureuse qui m’a tout de suite adoptée.


Depuis plusieurs années, j’œuvre à la démocratisation du savoir et de la culture par le biais de la lecture et de l’écriture. En plus d’accomplir cette mission, le Festival Frye bâtit des ponts entre anglophones et francophones, jeunes et moins jeunes, néophytes et passionnés de littérature.


C’est pour moi une grande fierté de prendre le relais de celles et ceux qui ont participé au succès du festival depuis sa fondation en 1999. J’espère que cette 20e édition sera à la hauteur de leur travail et qu’il marquera le début d’un nouveau chapitre à écrire ensemble.
 

Au plaisir de vous rencontrer!

Émilie Turmel