UA-87681140-1 Xavier Gould | Frye | Moncton
  • Instagram

Xavier Gould

Xavier Gould entered the Acadian cultural milieu in 2017 when they moved to Moncton with a liberal arts degree. Through funny short video clips on social media, their persona Jass-Sainte Bourque captivated audiences throughout the Acadian community, thus launching their professional artistic career. 

 

The character for whom Xavier Gould garnered recognition has created several opportunities for the performer, including writing the show Jass-Sainte à la camp, which toured New Brunswick, participating in the Sommet des femmes in Prince Edward Island as a poet, and hosting the Acadian national holiday main show during the 2019 Congrès Mondial acadien, which was broadcast live on national television. Yet, Gould has also made their mark through daily work as an activist in the queer community (2SLGBTQ+), receiving the 2019 Prix Viola Léger, the title of cultural person of the year from the Acadie Nouvelle and Étoile newspapers in 2018 and 2017 respectively, and the position of Honorary President of the River of Pride / Rivière de la fierté festival in 2018. Honoured by these recognitions, Xavier Gould never lets the notoriety they receive in the community detract from their artistic mission. 

 

As an artist, their mission is to explore how the plurality of queer realities can co-exist with the diverse realities and Acadian cultural landscapes that have long remained heteronormative and cisgendered. Through poetry, stories, and images, Xavier Gould challenges the social norms of contemporary Acadian identity to include people from the queer community.

NEWSLETTER

   Stay tuned for news, events, announcements and special offers!   

Frye Festival

P.O. Box 26023

Moncton, NB

CANADA  E1E 4H9

T : 506.859.4389

CONTACT US

Partners

UA-87681140-1 Xavier Gould | Frye | Moncton

Xavier Gould

PRELUDE + FRYE JAM_Twitter.png
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

C’est en déménageant à Moncton en 2017 avec un Baccalauréat en arts libéraux que l’artiste Xavier Gould s’est dès lors présenté·e au milieu culturel acadien. À travers de capsules humoristiques sur les médias sociaux, son personnage Jass-Sainte Bourque a su captiver le public à grande échelle à travers la communauté acadienne, débutant ainsi son parcours professionnel. 
 

Le personnage pour lequel Xavier Gould s’est fait connaître lui a offert plusieurs opportunités, dont l’écriture du spectacle de Jass-Sainte à la camp, qui a fait une tournée au Nouveau-Brunswick, une participation en tant que poète au Sommet des Femmes à l’ Î.-P.-É, et l’animation du spectacle de la Fête nationale de l’Acadie dans le cadre du Congrès mondial acadien en 2019, diffusé en direct à la télévision nationale. 


Par contre, c’est en s’attardant à son travail quotidien en tant que militant·e dans la communauté queer (2SLGBTQ+) qu’on remarque que l’artiste queer acadien·ne ne se limite pas qu’au rire facile. Xavier Gould reçoit le prix Viola Léger en 2019, le titre de personnalité culturelle de l’année (Acadie Nouvelle 2018 et L’Étoile 2017) et devient président·e d’honneur de la Semaine de la fierté du Grand Moncton en 2018. Honoré·e de cette reconnaissance, l’artiste ne laisse jamais la notoriété qu’on lui décerne dans la communauté amoindrir sa mission, soit d’explorer comment la pluralité des réalités queers peut exister en rapport avec les diverses réalités et paysages culturels acadiens qui sont, depuis longtemps, demeurés majoritairement hétéronormatifs et cisgenres. À travers la poésie, des histoires et des images, Xavier Gould veut contester les normes sociales de l’identité acadienne contemporaine afin d’y inclure les gens de la communauté queer.
 

INFOLETTRE

 Restez à l'affût des actualités, événements, annonces et offres spéciales du Frye! 

Festival Frye

Casier postal 26023

Moncton, NB

CANADA  E1E 4H9

T : 506.859.4389

NOUS JOINDRE

Partenaires